Board of Directors

Craig H. Hansen

Calgary, Alberta
President and Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Hansen has been our President since 1993, including our predecessor, Zargon Energy Trust. Prior to joining Zargon, he founded C.H. Hansen Engineering Ltd., an engineering consulting company, which provided reservoir, exploitation, and acquisition engineering services from 1984 through 1993. Mr. Hansen was employed with Dome Petroleum Ltd. (1978-1980) and NRG Engineering Ltd. (1980-1984).

Mr. Hansen obtained a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Chemical Engineering from the University of Alberta in 1978 and is a professional engineer registered with Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA).

Kyle Kitagawa (1)

Calgary, Alberta
Chairman of the Board

Mr. Kitagawa brings over 25 years experience in commodity trading, equity investing, and structured finance in energy and energy intensive industries. Prior to April 2003, he held senior executive positions in a global energy trading and capital corporation. Mr. Kitagawa has been an independent businessman since 2003. In addition, Mr. Kitagawa serves as Chairman of Canadian Energy Services & Technology Corp.

Mr. Kitagawa holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Queen’s University, a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Calgary and is a Chartered Accountant.

Glenn Koach

Los Angeles, California

Mr. Koach is Co-Founder/Portfolio Manager of Concise Capital Management, LP. Concise is an SEC-registered investment adviser with currently over $340 million US in assets under management that specializes in short duration, under-followed high yield bonds.

Mr. Koach holds a Bachelor of Science in Economics with a major in Finance and Accounting from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Geoffrey C. Merritt (1)

Calgary, Alberta

Mr. Merritt has over 30 years of experience in the upstream oil and gas sector. In 2003, he founded Masters Energy Inc., a public exploration and production company, which was acquired by Zargon in April 2009. From 1998 to 2003, Mr. Merritt was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Sunfire Energy. Prior to 1998, he was the Vice President and General Manager of the oil and gas division of Pembina Corporation. He currently sits on the board of Perpetual Energy Inc.

Mr. Merritt received a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering from the University of Alberta in 1978 and is a graduate of the Harvard Business School.

Jim Peplinski  (2)

Calgary, Alberta

Mr. Peplinski is an independent businessman with his main focus being a commercial vehicle lessor business, Jim Peplinski Leasing Inc. He is also Vice President of Business Development for the Calgary Flames Hockey Club, as well as an investor in real estate and oil and gas.

Ron Wigham (1) (2)

Calgary, Alberta

Mr. Wigham is an independent businessman and a director of Spur Resources Ltd. and Tourmaline Oil Corp. He retired in 2014 as Vice-Chairman of Peters and Company (“Peters”).

Grant Zawalsky (2)

Calgary, Alberta

Mr. Zawalsky is Managing Partner of Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP (Barristers and Solicitors). Mr. Zawalsky has been a Partner of Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP since 1994. Mr. Zawalsky currently sits on the board of directors of a number of public and private companies including NuVista Energy Ltd., PrairieSky Royalty Ltd. and Whitecap Resources Inc. and is Corporate Secretary of ARC Resources Ltd., Bonavista Energy Corporation and RMP Energy Inc.

Mr. Zawalsky holds a B.Comm. and LL.B. from the University of Alberta and is a member of the Law Society of Alberta.


  1. Member of the audit and reserves committee, which is required under the Business Corporations Act (Alberta).
  2. Member of the governance and compensation committee.
  3. Zargon does not have an executive committee.